Shit Is Fucked Up And Bullshit In Reproductive Rights News: Michigan

As some of you might know, although I live in Illinois now, I hail from the worst of the Rust Belt: the Great Lakes State, a place some people have taken to calling the Mississippi of the North, a place I have (what now seems like) an unreasonable affinity towards. I know you’re all looking forward to my overhaul of May’s new anti-abortion laws, and I have a Personhood Amendment article all set up in the chute to be edited and posted, but I need to get this off my chest right about now: Go Fuck Yourself, Michigan.

I have been active and aware of the battle for reproductive rights for a very long time. When I was sixteen years old, my mother took me to a conference celebrating the thirty-year anniversary of Roe v. Wade. Although I have so far been lucky and never needed to avail myself of the option to have an abortion, I have always thought about how terrifying it would be to live in a place like Mississippi or Utah, to live somewhere where sexual activity always has that heightened risk. Michigan’s former rules, while constrictive, weren’t terrible; parental notification laws are shitty, but I wasn’t sexually active until after I turned eighteen, so it was moot for me. No longer.

If this bill passes, it is possible that when I move back to Detroit, I am going to move into a place where there are no abortion clinics, because they can’t afford to be open. Because the clinics that provide only medical abortions will now be forced to have surgical rooms – just in case? Just in case of what? Where providers will have to have one million dollars of liability insurance. I will be moving back to a place where I have to get counseling, to make sure I’m really really sure I want this abortion. (Bitch, I’ve known I’ve wanted this abortion since before I started having sex.) I’m moving back to a place where I have to pay an extra $400 to get the remains of my eight-week-old fetus cremated, back to a place where I would never even want to try to have children, because if I found out that my fetus had spina bifida in week 21 of my pregnancy I would have to carry it to term.

I would be moving back to a state in which the legislators prevented pro-choice voices from testifying, and just this week censured two female representatives for speaking out against the bill. I’m sure you’ve all heard this by now, but I’m reiterating it to hammer home the absurdity: Representative Barb Byrum (D-Onondaga) was prevented from adding an amendment regulating the practice of vasectomies. Representative Lisa Brown (D-West Bloomfield) stood up and said, “I’m flattered you’re all so concerned about my vagina. But no means no.” (Later, the GOP Majority Floor Leader, Jim Stamas, R-Midland of course, said that it wasn’t because of the vee-word but because of the rape metaphor. Well, that makes sense, then.) Both of these women are now banned from speaking on the House floor, indefinitely.

So fuck you, Michigan. Fuck you and your GOP legislature and your crazy rednecks in the UP and your crazy Christians in Grand Rapids, fuck you for making me afraid to have sex.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

